Memory

My memory used to be fantastic. But now, not so much.  I’ve never used a day planner and I never used to write down my homework when I was in school and I NEVER forgot what I had.  Now I still don’t use a day planner. I’m noticing that I have a hard time remembering what to do. When I get stressed I constantly forget what I was thinking or doing and I have to stop and retrace my steps and only about half of the time do I remember. My volunteers at work have noticed that I’m super forgetful now and they keep telling me I’m not old enough for that to happen.  I laugh it off but I’m worried.

My mom, Doctor, and therapist keep trying to tell me that this is normal. People forget things when they are stressed. This doesn’t feel normal to me.  This feels sudden.  It doesn’t only happen when I’m stressed. It started a little over a year ago. I don’t think it’s because I’m older, I’m only 29. I don’t feel old. What I do notice is that it started after I got really sick spring of 2016.  I’m convinced it did something to my memory.

I don’t know, but I’m thinking that this is something I’m going to have to learn to live with. I have to accept that, but I don’t have to like it.

But as always….

I will do as much as I can for as long as I can and that will have to be enough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

