Backhanded Compliment

There are very few times that I’m grateful for the particular flavor of bipolar that I have.

This is one of those times.

For the past few weeks I’ve been depressed.  Like not get out of bed, let the laundry pile up, and only showering when absolutely necessary depressed.

And then, Sunday night, somebody flipped a switch and I was fine.  I’m still fine.I have motivation at work.  I’m thinking about my future. This isn’t the I can do anything I want hypomania, this is me.  I’ve got a break from the bipolar. I can get things done.

Hence the being grateful.

But even as I write this, I know that the switch can flip back in a heartbeat. And now that I think about it, this switch-flipping hasn’t happened in a long time.  Not that I haven’t had periods of feeling OK, because I have.  But it hasn’t been this sudden.

Despite me being grateful that I’ve got a break, it probably means something isn’t working as it should. Kinda like a backhanded compliment.

*sigh*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

