Things I want you to know about Bipolar

  1. It’s OK to laugh if I make jokes about it.

    My family always said if you don’t laugh you’ll cry so you might as well laugh about it. If I make a joke about my Bipolar, whether it be about therapy, medication, or my symptoms, it’s OK to laugh.  It’s only awkward if you make it awkward.
  2. Don’t be afraid of the words.

    Go on.  Say it.  Bipolar. Depression. Anxiety. Suicide. Psychosis. Support Groups. Therapy. Psychiatrist. Words tend to be less scary the more you use them. If you are afraid of using those words, you are afraid of what I could be.  Don’t be.

  3. I’m never not thinking about it.

    I am always thinking about it.  Especially in the quiet moments.  It gets heavy after a while. Which brings me to my next point…

  4. It’s lonely.

    Take the most difficult, dramatic, heartbreaking event in your life. Or even the most exciting, wonderful thing you have ever experienced.  You don’t know anyone else who has gone through something similar.  Now imagine all those emotions…good, bad, and ugly…that come up.  Now take all those emotions and and feelings and thoughts and sit with them in silence.  There is no one to commiserate with, no one who gets it. Those closest to you don’t understand, even if they are able to sit in that silence with you.

    What would you add?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

