Half-finished projects

Last night, I was over at my friends house and we were having a knitting/crocheting movie night. She was working on a baby sweater for her nephew, and I was working on one of my blankets.

As we were talking she said, “What are you working on again?  I can never keep track; you change projects so often.”

Yup.  I am the queen of the half finished project.  Right now I have:

2 blankets
3 shawls
at least 2 scarfs, one of which has been sitting unfinished for probably 3 or 4 years
2 blankets
a dragon, and I think I have half a frog laying around somewhere
a doily
a few sock monkeys
a chair pad for my friend
a couple washcloths

and probably a few other things that I can’t remember at the moment. Some need ripped apart so I can use the yarn for something else, others I just need to suck it up and do.  It’s not like I don’t have the time.  I haven’t finished anything in ages. Right now I’m forcing myself to finish a blanket; I need to feel like I’ve accomplished something.

I don’t know why I don’t finish things.  It’s part boredom, part impatience, and part I don’t know what.  I have half finished projects at work too that I keep putting off. I have a dozen or so books that I’m halfway through. I moved a year ago almost to the day, and I still have things I use regularly in boxes. If I don’t have hard and fast deadlines, things don’t get done.  Except school work.  I always had that done ahead of time.

I wasn’t always this bad, but I’ve been this way for years, though it still doesn’t feel like me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

