Tacos and Tapeworms

(Let’s be real, this post has absolutely nothing to do with tacos…..but it makes for a catchy title, doesn’t it?)

We all know it is rude to go up to someone and say, “I can’t believe how fat you are!” or “What do you eat so your that fat?” or “You probably weigh X amount, don’t you?”

Agreed?  I thought so.

So on what planet is it OK for complete strangers to come up to me and freely comment on my weight or what I’m eating.

People comment on the types of clothing that they think I should wear because of my size. There have been in depth conversations about what I eat and how much with me standing right there. People have stood there guessing how much I weigh.  I get out my lunch and if its a salad, everyone comments that thats how I stay so thin, or if its something more substantial I get the “I can’t believe you can eat that and stay so thin.”

I don’t doubt that some of you out there are sitting there thinking I should be flattered that people notice how thin I am.  But I’m not.  It makes me cringe.

This is what they don’t know.

I have flirted with disordered eating my entire life. Sometimes, there is a very real fear of gaining weight. It’s awkward and uncomfortable and I don’t like talking about it. I’m self conscious about my size, more so since people talk about it all. the. time.

I was relaying this to my therapist yesterday and she was surprised how much people comment on my weight. I told her next time someone brings up how skinny I am, I’m telling them I have a tapeworm I can’t get rid of (yes I know, there are people out there with tape worms silently cursing me out for this comment).

She laughed and told me I should tell people that I’ve named my tapeworm. And then we both lost it–laughing so hard we were almost crying.  I ❤ my therapist.

Moral of the story? Quit pestering the skinny girl about her weight.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tacos and Tapeworms

  1. Kristine Haig says:

    Awesome, as always. People can be pretty thoughtless. Can’t count the number of times people (mostly men) commented on my height. Sheesh.

    Hope you’re well, aside from the tapeworm that is.

    Kris

    On Aug 30, 2016 8:56 PM, “365 days in the garden” wrote:

    > Nicole posted: “(Let’s be real, this post has absolutely nothing to do > with tacos…..but it makes for a catchy title, doesn’t it?) We all know it > is rude to go up to someone and say, “I can’t believe how fat you are!” or > “What do you eat so your that fat?” or “You prob” >

  2. ToadieOdie says:

    ❤ Name your tapeworm Eduardo and tell them you got him from a shot of Tequila or something bizarre like that. Fact tends to be stranger than fiction so make the story a bit off and people typically take a pause at least. It's long enough for you to walk away if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

