Drama Queen

I’ve always hated drama queens.  I hate it when people have dramatic, shocked reactions to things I think aren’t a big deal. I used to pride myself in being calm and collected about everything.

Hah.  That’s funny.

Self-revelation #23523: I am secretly a drama queen. I have quick, impassioned responses to the unexpected, and I don’t always reign it in. Something happens and its like my inner teenager thinks the world is ending.  Medicated and self-aware me does a better job at putting the breaks on the drama.  It doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen, but rather I talk myself down before I grace the rest of the world with the latest “crisis.” Now, I have no idea if my inner drama queen is related to the bipolar or not, or if I’ve simply learned to put my big-girl panties on.  I’m leaning toward the latter.

The people I know are probably grateful for this new found skill that I have.  I’m grateful for it anyways.  I don’t want to be “that” person.

I’m still left with the off the wall, emotional responses to everything, especially if I’m in the midst of an episode. I still have to sort out the garbage and try to get myself to chill the hell out. But I do my best to keep it to myself now.

And that’s better. Right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

