Resources

In November, when I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder and didn’t know what to do, I started to research. Knowledge is my security blanket. It calms my nerves and makes me feel like I have some control over the situation.

I have researched Bipolar Disorder, depression, anxiety disorders, self-harm, suicide, hospital stays, medications, side effects, bipolar disorder and relationships, therapy, personal stories… You name it, I’ve researched it. Not a day has gone by since Sara uttered the words bipolar disorder that I haven’t thought about it or spent time looking stuff up. I’ve been trying to shove my highly-functioning self into the bipolar box… trying to find something I could relate to.

Conclusion?  No matter how hard you look, you will never find someone that has the exact same experience as you.  Similar? Yes.  The same? No. But you already know that.

But I have found a lot of resources and things that have helped me attempt to make peace with this. So I thought I’d share the wealth, and remind myself because right now the mental fog is the worst I’ve ever experienced.

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance – There is a lot of educational material here, and is where I sent my parents to learn about Bipolar. I also found a support group through this page.  For months I didn’t think it was for me.  And then a conversation with Sara changed my mind.  It made a much bigger difference than I could ever imagine. Oh and there’s a mood tracker app that’s pretty awesome, but for some reason I can’t get myself to do.

Journey Towards Wellness – A good friend of mine directed me to this blog months before I knew I had bipolar disorder.  While this blogger doesn’t really post that often anymore, you can find her stuff here.

International Bipolar Foundation – More resources, plus I like what they post on Facebook.

Mental Health on The Mighty – Some of it is really good.  Some of it makes me roll my eyes.

That’s all I’ve got for right now.  As I mentioned before, the mental fog is so bad right now my memory is shot.

Feel free to share any resources you might have found.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Resources

  1. SwittersB says:

    Thank you for sharing the resources and your wisdom.

  2. ESP says:

    My first diagnosis was given to me over 25 years ago and I did the same thing, researched everything I could. I really does help to know that you’re not struggling alone and that a diagnosis of bipolar disorder doesn’t mean your life is over.

  3. Wow, thanks! What awesome resources! I agree…knowledge has become kind of an obsession for me, like I can somehow make sense of my life if I just research the crap out of this condition. Unfortunately, it doesn’t really work that way. :-/

    • I know the feeling! I also always want to educate people about it. Not sure what the best way to go about that, especially because I don’t want to out myself at work, at least not now.

Leave a Reply

