Tracking.

This is more of a PSA than anything else….

I’ve always known that I probably should be tracking the crazy shit in my head, but I’ve never bothered.  A recent conversation with all my associated mental health professional people made me revisit the idea.

And I found this. It’s through the DBSA.  It lets you track nearly everything….even has a place for medications and side effects, physical activity, moods, sleep, symptoms.  You have the ability to write comments/notes on anything you track.  I like it because I can log several mood swings in one day (because I’m one of those lucky people), and it has a wide variety of symptoms to pick from. The only thing that it doesn’t really let me track are the psychotic symptoms, but I bet if I think about it, I can make it work for me.

I think it will help me see the extent of my symptoms…because I have the tendency to forget approximately every .5 seconds how bad things can get and how quickly they can change.

And the best part is I can print out all of these nice reports that nicely lay everything out, hand them to my therapist/psychiatrist (who is really a nurse practitioner btw)  and go “Here is the crazy shit in my brain.” It eliminates me trying to juggle what is actually happening with what my mind wants me to believe is happening.  I’ve also started a running list of things on my phone that I need to tell.

Both have given me a sense of control and the illusion of stability, especially when I can’t hold onto any routine or consistency right now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tracking.

  1. Kristine Haig says:

    Can I post this to my FB wall? I think it’s really important info that would be useful to a LOT of folks. On Mar 3, 2016 10:28 PM, “365 days in the garden” wrote:

    > 365daysinthegarden posted: “This is more of a PSA than anything else…. > I’ve always known that I probably should be tracking the crazy shit in my > head, but I’ve never bothered. A recent conversation with all my > associated mental health professional people made me revisit the idea” >

Leave a Reply

